• The Optimizer’s Guide to Google Adwords: Understanding Match Types

    One of the first questions you are faced with when setting up a Google Adwords account is what “match type” to run on. Match type determines how closely you want to match the keyword combinations people type as search queries. Before we choose a match type strategy it is helpful to understand the 4 different match types and the unique of results you will get from each one.

    The 4 Different Match Types

    In typical Google fashion, there are several ways to match your keywords to search queries. These four match types can dynamically affect the effectiveness of your ad targeting and the quality of your incoming traffic. Below I will use the keyword motorola cellphone to illustrate the differences.

    1) Broad Match

    Broad match is, as the name suggests, broad. Google will display your ad for search results that match exactly, but also for results that are broadly related to your keyword.

    Entered in Adwords as: motorola cellphone

    Ads might show for: motorola cellphone, motorola phones, cellphone plans, verizon, etc.

    2) Phrase Match

    Phrase match can display your ad for any search that includes a specific phrase. It allows you to take advantage of the broad match versatility but with more control. This can be especially helpful if variations of your phrase might be more common but unrelated. For example, if your keyword is “computer supplies”, you may not want to display an ad for every permutation involving the word “computer.”

    Entered in Adwords as: “motorola cellphone

    Ads might show for: motorola cellphone, motorola cellphone chargers, carriers with motorola cellphone, etc.

    Ads will not show for single-word queries: cellphone, motorola, etc.

    3) Exact Match

    Exact match will only display your ad if someone searches for the exact keyword with nothing extra. This can be useful when your keyword contains broad, common, permutations. Or you know exactly what converts best and you want to focus a constrained budget just on certain keywords.

    Entered in Adwords as: [motorola cellphone]

    Ads only show for: motorola cellphone

    Ads will not show for: buy motorola cellphone, cellphone accessories, cellphone, etc.

    4) Negative Match

    Negative match will prevent any red herring keywords from affecting your ad results – if there’s a word commonly associated with your keyword but you don’t want it associated with your ad, simply use negative match.

    Example Keyword: motorola cellphone -verizon

    Ads may show for: motorola cellphone, att motorola cellphone, motorola cellphone accessories

    Ads will not show for: motorola cellphone for verizon, verizon cellphone

    Here is a link to more information on match type examples. Bing and Yahoo both have similar match types. A great comparison of all three engine’s match types can be found here.  

    In part 2 of this post, I will walkthrough 2 different match type strategies that will help you build out a highly converting Google Adwords campaign.

  • Announcing Super Conversion Button

    Super Conversion Button is a web application lovingly hand-crafted by our team at Performable that lets you create a beautiful, effective call-to-action button in seconds!

    At ABTests.com we have seen companies increase their website conversions by double digits by simply changing their call-to-action buttons.

    The Super Conversion Button app is absolutely free. We’d love it if you could try it out and let us know what you think in the comments section below.

  • The Optimizer’s Guide to Google Adwords: How your cost per click is determined

    Here is a common situation that many Google Adwords rookies encounter. You have just setup your first Google Adwords campaign and have decided that you’re willing to pay $2.00 for every click on your ad. You proudly enter that as your default max cost per click (CPC) for your adgroups and launch your campaign. You expect to pay $2.00 for as many clicks as Google can get you.

    But the next day you check your Adwords account and you see the following:

    At first you’re excited. You were willing to pay $2 per click but Adwords only charged you $1.51. That seems good…Google didn’t even charge you as much as you expected for the traffic they sent your way.

    But then you take a look at your average search results position and notice that you averaged the 3rd best position. Why is that? Why didn’t Google take the $2 you were willing to pay for each click and give you a slightly higher position? How did Google arrive at exactly $1.51? The answer is Google’s cost per click equation.

    Google’s Cost Per Click Equation

    The driving principle behind Google’s Cost Per Click equation is this: You will always pay the lowest amount for the highest position you can get. In other words Google Adwords is charging you the minimum amount for you to maintain the position you achieved from your AdRank score. AdRank is a numeric value you get by multiplying your Quality Score by your bid. Your Quality Score is a general measure of your relevance to the keyword in question (New to AdRank or Quality Score? Check out my earlier post). Your cost per click is calculated by dividing the AdRank of the ad beneath yours by your Quality Score and rounding up to the nearest cent.

    Actual CPC = (Ad Rank to beat ÷ Your Quality Score) + $0.01

    Example

    That sounds complicated so go over an example that will make it more clear. Let’s say that Jeff and Tom are both eligible to show ads for the same search term.

    Jeff has set a maximum cost per click of $3 and he has a quality score of 5. His AdRank is then Max CPC times Quality Score which is 3 x 5=15.

    Tom’s keyword has a maximum bid of $2, a dollar lower than Jeff’s. However, he’s got a Quality Score of 9, giving him the higher AdRank of 18.

    Because Tom has the higher AdRank than Jeff, he wins the better ad position. How much does he pay?  Lets consult the equation above. Google Adwords takes the ad-rank below him (Jeff’s 15) and divides by his own quality score (9). Then, add one cent. Jeff pays 15/9 + 0.01 = $1.68 (which is lower than his maximum bid of $2).

    Exceptions

    If your ad is the only ad showing, a click costs the lowest price possible to show. This depends on the matched keyword’s Quality Score – the higher the score, the less you pay.

    If your ad appears above the search results, click cost is determined in the same way as an ad on the side of the page, but the keyword bid and Quality Score must meet certain thresholds. For more about that, click here.

    For more information of Google Adwords be sure to check out my other posts!